Daniel Wallace
Leigh Shears
Hunter Unions Organiser

Mob: 0401798002
Ph: 0249291162
Newcastle Trades Hall Council
Hunter Unions Building
Level 1, Suite 1,
406-408 King St,
Newcastle West 2302

The Newcastle Trades Hall Council is entering a new and exciting period with the election of a new President and several Executive Office bearers.

We have a long proud history representing workers within the region with the establishment of the Newcastle Trades Hall Council in 1885. Workers coming together in solidarity over the years have not only shaped our region but also influenced the direction of the nation.

Our affiliates and their delegates represent a broad and diverse section of industry and our community but more can always be achieved. Women sit on our executive committee and are representatives of their respective Unions as delegates to Trades Hall, but we have no women in Executive Office positions.

Greater representation is needed and we aim to change this. 

NTHC now has 66,577 members representing the broad spectrum of industry in our region. With additional members from Aluminium, Steel & Manufacturing (4000), Energy, Electricity & Mining (6000), Health, Disability & Welfare Community Services (6100), Professional (Engineers & Teachers, 500), Fiery’s, Bus & Train Drivers (2000), Retail Workers (3000).

On Thursday 27th August we held executive elections at our AGM, along with the election of a new Secretary 12 months ago many new faces will now hold office at Trades Hall.  

The newly elected President of NTHC is Justin Page elected unopposed.

Justin has been an Organiser for the ETU for 6 years and was a lead organiser for the ‘stop the power sell off’ campaign locally.

In 1986 Justin, now 44, started his electrical apprenticeship at Tomago Aluminium where he was later to become shop stewart.

Justin replaces Lloyd Harris from the CWU who served as the NTHC President for 12 years.


Vice President

Mick Forbes (TWU)

Peter Harris (CFMEU Construction and General)

Steve Kelly (NSWTF)



Glen Williams (MUA)

Cory Wright (AMWU)


Disputes Committee

Peter McPherson (NTHC)

Jim O’Neill - AMWU

Glen Williams - MUA

Mick Forbes -TWU

David Bliss - SDA


Returning Officer

Gilbert Bunn



Showing 2 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

  • commented 2016-06-08 04:21:39 +1000
    A really cool website, with a lot of posts are nice! Visit the website Espaço FH to learn more about the product Testomaster !
  • published this page 2015-08-27 17:22:16 +1000